Located in the   northwestern suburbs of Beijing, Tsinghua University was established in   1911 on the site of “Qing Hua Yuan (Tsinghua Garden)” —a former royal   garden of the Qing Dynasty. Partly funded by the “Gengzi Indemnity”,   also known as “Boxer Indemnity,” it functioned at first as a preparatory   school called “Tsinghua Xuetang (Tsing Hua Imperial College)” for those   students who were sent by the government to study in the United States.

On April 29, 1911, Tsinghua Xuetang began its first term of study,   and from that year on, the Tsinghua’s anniversary has fallen on the last   Sunday of April. The name was changed to “Tsinghua Xuexiao   (Tsing Hua College)” after the 1911 Revolution.

In 1925, Tsinghua launched its four-year undergraduate programme. In   1928, its name was changed to “Guoli Tsinghua Daxue (National Tsinghua   University),” and in the autumn of 1929 its graduate school was set up.

Following the outbreak of the War of Resistance against Japan in   1937, Tsinghua University, Peking University and Nankai University   merged to form the National Southwest Associated University in Kunming.   After the war, Tsinghua University moved back to its original Beijing   campus.

Three years after the founding of the People’s Republic of China, a   nationwide restructuring of institutes of higher education began, and in   1952, Tsinghua University became a multidisciplinary polytechnic   university specializing in training engineers. In November of that year,   the Ministry of Education appointed Jiang Nanxiang as President.

Since 1978, Tsinghua University has strengthened its teaching in   sciences, economic management, humanities and law. In 1999, Tsinghua   opened the School of Arts and Design by merging with the Central Academy   of Arts and Design. In 2012, the Graduate School of the People's Bank   of China (PBC) merged into Tsinghua University as Tsinghua University   PBC School of Finance. Today, Tsinghua has become  a world-leading comprehensive university that offers subject areas in  engineering, science, economics, management, art, medicine, philosophy, law,  literature, history and education. Students are provided diversified  development paths to advance their critical thinking and entrepreneurship  through research-based learning. 

Over the past over 100 years, Tsinghua University has witnessed and   shared the hardships and glories of the nation. The University’s motto   of “Self-discipline and Social Commitment” has inspired many generations   of Tsinghua teachers and students to struggle for the prosperity of   China.

In 2017, Tsinghua  officially released its "Double First-Class (First-Class University &  First-Class Disciplines)" development plan. As one of China’s most  prestigious and influential universities, Tsinghua is committed to cultivating  global citizens who will thrive in today’s world and become tomorrow’s leaders.  Through the pursuit of education and research at the highest level of  excellence, Tsinghua is developing innovative solutions that will help solve  pressing problems in China and the world.


1911 - Founding of "Tsing Hua Imperial College", later changed to "Tsing Hua College" (preparatory school for students to study in the USA)
1925 - Launching of four-year undergraduate programme
1928 - "National Tsinghua University" is set up with 16 departments in four schools: the Liberal Arts, Law, Sciences, and Engineering
1937 - Tsinghua moved to Changsha, merging with Peking University and Nankai University to form "Changsha Temporary University"
1938 - Moved to Kunming, changing its name to "National Southwest Associated University"
1946 - Returned to the original campus, "Qing Hua Yuan (Tsinghua Garden)", in Beijing, and founded the School of Agriculture
1952 - Restructured as a polytechnic university after the nationwide restructuring
1978 - Nationwide College Entrance Examination is resumed
1984 - Establishes the first Graduate School in China.
― School of Economic Management is formed out of the existing department of management engineering.
― School of Sciences resumes on the basis of science departments.
1985 - First School of Continuing Education opens in China
1988 - Establishes  School of Architecture
1993 - Former departments and research institutes in the humanities and social sciences merged as School of Humanities and Social Sciences
1994 - Establishes School of Information Science and Technology
1996 - Establishes School of Mechanical Engineering
1999 - School of Law reopens
― Establishes School of Applied Sciences and Technology
― Establishes Academy of Arts and Design by merging with the Central Academy of Arts and Design
2000 - Establishes School of Civil Engineering
― Establishes School of Public Policy and Management.
2001 - Establishes School of Medicine
2002 - Establishes School of Journalism and Communication
2003 - Merges Huaxin Hospital and Yuquan Hospital into Tsinghua
2004 - Establishes School of Aerospace
2006 - Peking Union Medical College changed its name to "Peking Union Medical College (Division of Medicine, Tsinghua University)"
2008 - Establishes School of Marxism
2009 - Establishes School of Life Sciences
2011 - Centenary Celebration
― Establishes School of Environment
2012 - PBC School of Finance, School of Humanities, School of Social Sciences, School of Materials Science and Engineering established
2015 - · School of Pharmaceutical Sciences established
· Schwarzman College established
2016 - · Department of Earth System Science established
· School of Clinical Medicine established
2017 - Department of the History of Science established

2019 -

· Department of Astronomy established
· School of Vehicle and Mobility established

2020 - Vanke School of Public Health established